RIP New York Anime Festival.

Yes I am bitter than my otome game panel got rejected from new york anime festival for the 2nd year in a row. So now I’m gonna use my dead ANIME blog to rant about it! \( ^o^)/

I went to NYAF 2007, 2008 and 2009. Those were NYAF’s golden years. It was the time where they let anyone, including nice boat scammers get into the con. Sure that was a downside, but the upside was that there was a variety of panels. There were your usual set of anime panels but there were also lots of fan panels about things that may not be a specific anime or genre. In 2008 I was able to do an anime blogging panel, in 2009 I was able to do an MMO game panel. I had my hopes up high for NYAF because it was the only con that I felt like I could get a chance of doing random panels, and still get accepted. Since it’s in NYC you’d still get a fairly decent group of people attending the panel and for my MMO game panel I had a full room. A lot of people participated and asked questions so it was a lot of fun.

2010 – Vocaloid panel gets rejected. Okay fine, Crypton came that year, I get the picture.

2011 – Otome game panel gets rejected. Why?

Oh yes because my panel isn’t Naruto, Fairy Tail, Hetalia, Homestuck or whatever other internet meme that’s hot right now. I don’t even know what the fuck Homestuck is. ( ´_ゝ`) Looking at last year’s panel listing most “anime” panels were either official, or a screening or internet meme. Why? Because REED EXPO decided to be a bunch of cheap assholes and combine New York Comic Con with New York Anime Festival. Yes really smart. Because some guy who’s into Spiderman is gonna go be best friends with the fat girl over there drooling over America & England buttsecksing. Despite multiple complaints that a lot of anime fans were harrassed by the retards from the comic side, NYAF just said “LOL stfu nobody cares about anime fans in NYC” and combined it again for 2011.

Combining of course creates an overcrowded building, and in my case, cuts the chance for non generic panels to appear at the con. They told me to reapply again for 2012? Lol surely you must be kidding! Maybe I’ll reapply when you stop combining NYAF and NYCC. Oh wait you don’t give a shit about NYAF anymore. It’s now some kind of parasite to you, attached to the New York Comic Con because you need to fill up a section of space since you rented out the whole building. God forbid you actually give a shit about anime fans!

Well that’s a shame since this was the only con I could get to without forking over travel & hotel money. Guess my anime con days ended in 2009 and it will continue to be that way. RIP NYAF 2007-2009.

About

Patiently waiting for high res otome games on the Vita!

Tagged with: ,
Posted in Rants & Raves
16 comments on “RIP New York Anime Festival.
  1. Don’t feel too bad. Anime Parliament, which I have run at NYAF since its inception was turned down, as were the panels run by Disorganization XIII and all panels by Uncle Yo. If this isn’t some sort of mistake it’s proof that either NYCC has completely taken over the show, or their Programming Dept. no longer has any idea what it’s doing.

  2. Hinano says:

    Oh my god are you serious?? :shock: I thought they’d at least keep Uncle Yo. What the hell… (ノ_-;)ハア…
    Wow man your comment just made me lose even more faith in this con than before. I hope the true anime fans don’t give them anymore money. I sure as hell am not going to give them $70 or whatever it costs when they pull this kind of crap.

  3. Justin says:

    Do you know if there’s another panel similar to yours, or were you given any reason why? Also, it does seem Uncle Yo will still be there–except apparently he’s just running the Masquerade ATM: http://www.newyorkcomiccon.com/en/Whos-Coming/Guests/Anime-Guests/

  4. Hinano says:

    Justin> pretty sure there’s no other otome gaming panel unless Aksys is coming and I haven’t heard that they are. They didn’t give me a reason this year or last year. I assumed about Vocaloid last year because I found out they were coming a little after my panel got rejected. If it’s really because there’s already someone else doing the same panel as me, I think it’s obnoxious for them not to give me reason. But yea they obviously don’t give a flying ass so all I get is “sorry we got too many submissions.” In my eyes they probably open up panel submissions for maybe 2 panels, while the rest are already guaranteed (official/screenings etc) so we got like 100+ people fighting over those 2 slots because they only give a crap about NYCC and making sure every single official comic book guy gets his panel in!

  5. ToastCrust says:

    Harsh. You’d think NYC would have at least one real anime event, huh?

    Even up here in cold Vancouver, when our one big old-style anime con went under, it was just because of politics, and now THREE, maybe four, events have suddenly cropped up trying to vye for the void it left.

  6. Hinano says:

    It’s hard to find a place big enough in New York and isn’t gonna rape your wallet. I used to go to Anime Next till they moved to bumblefuck mid new jersey so that was taken away from me too. Meh oh well shit happens I guess, good thing I’m not into anime as much as I used to be I guess.

  7. kakoishii says:

    sorry to hear about that, but if there’s a silver lining it’s that crowded cons give way to obnoxious loud and smelly (extra smelly in some cases) anime fans. You just saved yourself a headache. I’m not sure if there is a con left in existence that hasn’t been tainted in one form or another. Still a shame they cramed NYAF and Comicon into one, I wouldn’t be surprised if in a year or two they just drop the NYAF part of it completely off like it never existed. This kind of just spells the beginning of the end.

  8. Hinano says:

    I wouldn’t be surprised if they did that either to be honest….which is a shame since NYAF alone rakes in 20,000 ppl. That’s as much as Otakon 2004 had TOTAL! Guess the 80k COmic Con fans blow the number out of the water so while in my eyes its significant, in their eyes its not.

  9. Teiyo says:

    I went to Fan Expo which is a comicbook/anime/gaming con in Toronto and like nobody cared about the anime section at all. I think the anime section had two rows of merch and the rest was all gaming or artist alley with the same shit I see everywhere. Like srsly, all these artists put prints on their DA, you can print them out yourself for like 50cents. And it didn’t help that even after I paid on Friday, getting in on Saturday, we had to wait two hours to get in. Da Fuk. I hate comic book conventions. You think they had even… just panels? Nope.jpg Or all related to comics.

    I’m surprised that NY of all places doesn’t have a decent anime convention. Considering around Toronto, there are about 5 conventions during the year that are within an hour or two of my house. You could always road trip to Toronto for Anime North. If you fly in, it’s right beside the airport too. 3 days for 45$ and it’s a really full convention. Everything for everyone. Their 18+ events are funny as hell too. I can’t remember if there was an otome panel, but I know on Sundays, there are tons of empty rooms. The Touhou Project panel, once finished, just hijacked an empty room and continued.

  10. Hinano says:

    Going to another country is really annoying. Even though it’s just canada you still have to deal with customs and that can be a bitch when they start sifting through your anime merchandise so sadly that would definitely be out of the question at this point. If I was going to stay at a hotel I could just go to bumblefuck New jersey for anime next but the point of NYAF was that I could go to it and come home the same day without spending much travel or hotel money….thats really the biggest bummer for me.

  11. Di Gi Kazune says:

    Hurricane strikes in response to crappiness.

  12. Lover703 says:

    Wished you lived in the West Coast, we got too many anime events, and conventions it gets overrated

  13. WIlliam says:

    Last year me and my girlfriend went and got the special Minori Chihara passes. No employees knew what it was (apparently not Batman enough for the rejects working the event). Anyways, we dished out a significant sum for sub-par service and zero recognition. I found the crowd their to be unwelcoming compared to previous years, and there were few dealers that caught my interest. I will not be attending this year, or anytime in the near or foreseeable future, barring a slew of Japanese voice actors sword the place for a concert. Which considering Minori’s treatment last year, most likely will not be happeneing.

  14. marypose says:

    dear… god… this is how i learn that anime parliament got farked… and uncle yo… really?!
    now i REGRET getting my tickets…
    aside from it being me and my beau’s anniversary (THANK YOU NYAF FROM LAST YEAR! [and, er, uncle's inspiring speech]) i no longer see any superb reason, knowing what’s going on behind the scenes…
    i am sad. really sad. =[
    if i give uncle yo a hug, i’m going to cry because of this too. >_<

  15. [...] the speaker. Programming was pretty dismal, with the maids performing every other hour. I know some friends wrote off the show for good. Since programming was quite bland, it really left no other activity [...]

  16. [...] the speaker. Programming was pretty dismal, with the maids performing every other hour. I know some friends wrote off the show for good. Since programming was quite bland, it really left no other activity [...]

Comments are closed.

August 2011
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  
You are visitor #:
  • 1,738,126 since 12/3/2008
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 609 other followers

