Meichan no Shitsuji – 01: Rich Bitches.

meichan101So with the drama season now slowly beginning to trickle down I decided to check out Mei-chan no Shitsuji also known as Mei-chan’s butler. If you’re a fan of Hana Yori Dango and Ouran High School Host Club, you’ll find  this drama appealing because it combines the aspect of “bishies” and “bitches” all in one series. The story begins focusing on Mei who is a poor girl living with a poor family that runs an udon shop. Now from my understanding, Mei’s mother already had Mei from a previous marriage (or whatever) but then she married Mei’s dad who threw away his “life of riches” for a life of “happiness” with Mei’s mother and herself. This makes Mei’s father not her blood related father. Please correct me if I’m wrong.

meichan102So anyway, one day Mei’s parents die. I have no idea why they died, and they haven’t gone into this yet. Because of this however, it turns out that Mei’s grandpa (on her dad’s side) is a rich dude and now Mei is set to inherit her father’s fortune. However a lot of people want her dead so that this random poor girl who isn’t “blood related to the elite” gets it. With this, her step-grandpa sends a butler for her and has her enroll in the all girls school for the rich bitches. And boy is it full of BITCHES! Gosh everyone of them makes me wanna punch their face into a windshield like in Kurokami! :twisted:

meichan103Not only are they spoiled rich bitches, every single female at the academy has her own butler. It’s like a yaoi fangirl fantasy or something. :lol: In addition while the introduction episode mostly focused on the pretty bitches, we definitely got some side characters. The ones that stood out to me are the tomboyish one who wears shorts instead of skirt, then the loli (who is apprently actually 9 years old), and the fat chick. LOL :lol: In any case, as expected with these types of things, Mei is ridiculed by the other bitches for not being “lady like” enough.

In meichan1041addition, she can’t really fit in because she’s not used to being waited on hand and foot every second of her life. The school also has a dorm system. Mei of course gets put in the ghetto dorm Ombra (Shadow). After you redeem yourself you can move up to Luna, and the most elite are in the Sun dorms. This includes the head bitch, Lucia played conveniently by Yamada Yu. Great now I get to hate her all over again! :lol: There are plenty of other familiar faces from like every school drama I’ve ever seen and if you watch dramas like I do, you will recognize them too lol.

meichan105Anyway after Mei can’t take it anymore (being thrown into a pit, threatened to be set on fire, have her cooking items ruined during a competition and then having her home made udon thrown to the floor) Mei decides to leave the dorms. When she gets back to what’s left of her house (cause someone planed a bomb there and there’s only explosion ruins remaining), it begins to rain and she sits all ronery in a chair getting soaked. She had just gotten off the phone with her step-grandpa who told her he refused to bury his son’s bones with her mother’s because she was “a woman who has nothing to do with him.” Mei-chan begged for them to be buried together because her parents loved each other very much, but he tells her if she wants this done, she has to “become a lady and fight.”

meichan106Just then Mei’s butler Rihito shows up. He tells her that he wants to serve her and when she asks what would he do if she were to fight back, he said he’d be her sword and armor. Anyway here’s the best part: ROMANCE. Cause really that’s all I’m watching this drama for :lol: Rihito, the butler has a younger otoutou-kun named Takeru who happens to me Mei’s childhood friend. It’s obvious as all hell that Kento has a crush on her (and the drama relationship chart confirms this) but he’s too shy to confess (as always is required with these kinds of things.) During the episode, Rihito makes it obvious that he likes Mei for the same reason, dun dun dun brother rivalry! Also at the end of the episode, Lucia says she wants to kill Mei. OKAY! So now Mei has to fit in to a school fulla bitches, avoid death, and find romance~

Sounds like I’ve found my Tuesday drama. :D

About

Juggling free time between otome games & FFXIV! (;・∀・)

Tagged with: , , , , , , ,
Posted in Drama
12 comments on “Meichan no Shitsuji – 01: Rich Bitches.
  1. Mika says:

    Woo sounds like my kind of drama! Rivals, bitches, love triangles here I come. ;) I think I’ll be rooting for the butler, cuz childhood friend romances are too cliche.
    And woah, they actually stuck someone fat in there?

  2. imbeleth says:

    Sounds good! Will watch it. Ha

  3. Di Gi Kazune says:

    Loli played by loli. All in 3d. Resisting urge to watch this show.

  4. Scheris says:

    Possible sibling rivalry? Count me in.

    If I’m not wrong this is based on a manga. A manga I won’t read since I don’t want to go through another Zettai Kareshi kind of disappointment.

  5. Abi-kun says:

    Yeah I remember fat chick from Nodame Cantabile (Shizuka-chan) but hey in every dorama I’ve watched (and its not a big list) there is at least one actor/actress that I’ve know form other doramas. And yes I enjoyed watching Hana Yori Dango, so maybe I’ll give it a try (if somebody will do the subtitles).

  6. oTAKu says:

    Interesting. Matsumoto Jun turned from rich kid Hana Yori Dango to butler in this.

  7. Hinano says:

    It’s not Matsumoto Jun lol, it’s Mizushima Hiro :lol:

  8. kirapika says:

    Wow. I think this would be a great watch? I’d love to try it.

    Just hoping it wouldn’t annoy me because of the rich bastards thing.

  9. Haven’t watch this before, though I heard quite abit of funny things about it.

  10. Cherish says:

    WHOA, I think I totally read a bit of this manga! I dropped it though, can’t remember why. I think it’s by the author who wrote that one smutty series.

  11. shalala says:

    I SOOOO have to watch this it seems tooo funny to miss. but first where do i find it subbed

  12. lunesta12 says:

    Dayum! This girl is in for it! I mean Bishes, Bitches, Death Threats, and not to mention her house is just rubble! I mean Shit- she is one UNLUCKY GIRL

Comments are closed.

January 2009
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031
You are visitor #:
  • 1,768,404 since 12/3/2008
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 611 other followers

