White Album – First Impressions

If only the exchange rate was still 165 yen to a dollar instead of 91!

If only the exchange rate was still 165 yen to a dollar instead of 91!

White Album is the shittiest shit that was ever shat out of a butt. I almost thought SHAFT was behind this garbage until I realized that there weren’t enough photoshop filters to justify their stupidity. I then found out that some company called Seven Buttpirates  (ARRRCs) was behind this and they also did some sailormoon rip off anime as well as an awesome show about elephant wangs. Unfortunately this show wasn’t as awesome and actually watching it on my big screen TV gave me a major headache so I guess I won’t try that anymore. :| What’s this show about? I think it’s about some kind of pop idols but as usual pop idols get treated like shit because all women are jealous bitches who just wanna kill each other to make themselves look good. I mean if I wanted to watch a terrible idol anime, I woulda actually gotten beyond episode 1 of this monstrocity. In other words, thanks but I’m not a Hirano Aya fanboy or a hard core Leaf fanboy to justify watching (or giving a damn) about this anime. Next please!

JP’s Thoughts:

1) Repeating butt comment, etc. and would like to point out that if you like it, then that means you like shit. I spent most of this episode making tea and slicing cake in order to avoid having to watch any more.
2) As per #1, I wish that I could rename this anime using some sort of poo-related nomenclature. Oh wait, I have it: Shite Album.
3) I could’ve sworn I read someone say something about how if an anime has a decent Nana Mizuki OP, the show will suck. See #1.
4) There’s a scene where the main dude is using one of those big pay phones, and the framing reminded us of Evangelion for some reason. This made me lol because I remembered how Eva takes place in THE FUTURE but people still used pay phones (with videoscreens? I forget). Someone missed that prediction!
5) This anime tried way too hard to feel like the mid-90’s when the game came out.

About

Juggling free time between otome games & FFXIV! (;・∀・)

Tagged with: , , ,
Posted in Anime
42 comments on “White Album – First Impressions
  1. totali says:

    “White Album is the shittiest shit that was ever shat out of a butt.”

    Damn! That’s pretty harsh! A butt!? Damn!

    “I could’ve sworn I read someone say something about how if an anime has a decent Nana Mizuki OP, the show will suck.”

    I will now laugh for a minute, and come back when I am done.

  2. Hinano says:

    Should I have specified what kind of butt it was? :lol:

  3. nazarielle says:

    “I’m not a Hirano Aya fanboy”

    inb4 Hirano Aya fanboy rage!

    Damn, I was kinda hoping this one was going to be something to watch for the Winter season (apart from Maria Holic). Oh well~

  4. Aizen says:

    Good thing I didn’t watch it then; would have wasted thirty precious minutes of my life.

    Instead of making tea/slicing cake, I would have started to watch Samurai Jack instead. Seriously.

  5. Scheris says:

    Watching this shit was such a waste of time.
    At some point I stopped paying attention and started writing tomorrow’s shopping list.

  6. bluemist says:

    Ouch. I’m a Leaf fan because of To Heart and Comic Party. Their anime counterparts are really the only decent ones of the bunch (excluding RMM). I still think TH2 is the shittiest anime based on a Leaf game, and didn’t watch Utawarerumono. I thought that because White Album is based on an old game that maybe the anime conversions will return to greatness.

    I think I will like the insert song that whats-her-name again sang in this episode. Story may be quite as expected. Newbie introduces his boyfriend to idol senpai, love triangle ensues. Nice Boat. The end. I’ll still be following it, and hope that crap can turn to cake.

  7. Taiyaki says:

    I just couldn’t get past the shittiest OP sequence-shit that was ever shat out of a butt. :'(

  8. Di Gi Kazune says:

    Ah… Seven Buttpirates or whatever…


    -drumroll suspense-

    The same lot that did Nanoha and Nanoha A’s. With plenty of defects that they needed to rectify in the DVD. So expect defects galore.

    -stamps not watching-

  9. Please, please, please, please correct the spelling of monstrosity – it just sticks out so badly that it burns! ;_;

  10. bakaneko says:

    Shit! I was hoping this would be the shit of the season. Looks like it’s just plain shit.

  11. Emperor J says:

    This is just becoming way too common. Yet another first episode which makes it seem like they have no idea what they are doing when putting this together.

    I’ll still end up watching all of it and hating myself for it though.

  12. lunesta12 says:

    Awww, I actually found some interest in Full Moon O Sagashite.
    But anyways, seems like this is just plain dog shit.
    Bummer.
    Man winter ruins everything on TV!!!

  13. psychometry says:

    damn, that shitty. I’m not watching this.

  14. nazarielle says:

    Meh, yeah, I see what you mean. Of course, I didn’t really understand much, but another season of hearing Minato might make my brain explode D:

  15. Koji Oe says:

    You two have to be the most unloving butthurt anime fans I have ever seen. I mean, just looking at how you rate anime makes me wonder if you even like a lot of the stuff you watch more so for you JP.

    If you don’t like it don’t watch it.

  16. jpmeyer says:

    I’ll give you a B for effort on the troll. You miss the full A since this is a first impression post, and therefore we won’t be watching it.

  17. JohnG says:

    I think you should have known it was crap from the premise. Idols + love triangles? Of course they are gonna be stabbing each other in the back all over the place, that’s what the entire “I wanna be an idol” shouja genre is, isn’t it?

  18. padfoot135 says:

    hehe.. the anti triangle love+no action hino policy… hino almost always kick anime with triangle love and no action situation around as if they had a piece of paper with the word “kick me” stuck on to their butt! xD “MWAHAHAHAHA”

  19. Hinano says:

    John> I generally don’t read any premises, I just look at the character designs :lol:

  20. Sabrina says:

    You just had to bring Lovely Idol into this. *tsk*tsk*

  21. Di Gi Kazune says:

    I don’t even look at character designs, I can feel it’s crap through the Force.

  22. Ray says:

    Ah you two, give it a rest. You know nothing about 80’s Japanese culture anyway (unless you actually do). Neither do I, so things happened in this show are still probably to the Japanese, at least. The date stated was 1986 but somehow the scene didn’t feel like it.

    I don’t think Koji Oe was being a troll this time; he was wondering about how cynical can you get?

    Why do people soooo easily find voices annoying anyway? I’ve been tolerating construction noises right across the narrow street for more than one year now, and believe me comparing to some dickheads jack (off) hammering 2 fucking AM in the morning, Aya-chan’s voice is simply great (not that her voice was ever bad at all).

    that said, first episode was plain vanilla and wasn’t impressive at all. The texts just didn’t work. A bust for Aya and the production company.

  23. Ray says:

    doh! I meant “plausible” :P Sorry guys.

  24. Impz says:

    Haha. You are so harsh as always. I didn’t give White Album much credit but I might just watch it since I am a total sucker for romance. I tell you when I die of boredom or suckdom.

  25. [...] hate I accumulated over many things that are unique to anime settings have gone near the levels of Hinano hate of crap anime. Of course, if I ever reach the levels of Hinano hate, that will mean that I am a very disgruntled [...]

  26. vichussmith says:

    that’s not how you spell monstrosity. You must have been really angry at this to miss that.

  27. [...] on White Album 01 Hinano: White Album is the shittiest shit that was ever shat out of a [...]

  28. Cron says:

    What a childish review, and what a childish echo chamber here. It was a pretty solid first episode.

  29. [...] on starting winter series until I finished all the fall reviews planned… but after seeing the scathing reviews, I decided that I should check out this series [...]

  30. jp says:

    You are all WRONG!

    White Album is great.

  31. shalala says:

    i’ll still have to watch this. thats after i finish watching the anime for last year sept/oct. i hope its good.

  32. [...] Comments White Album is one of the shows I’m hyped about this season. I’ve read some interesting posts on it, watched the raw and the sub of episode 1, and finally discussed it in MTF. The thread [...]

  33. [...] afternoon with a first episode that could be described as seemingly ill-advised, without direction, every sort of synonym for fecal matter. And because it was Saturday afternoon I could also hilariously call it Manchester City [...]

  34. [...] on starting winter series until I finished all the fall reviews planned… but after seeing the scathing reviews, I decided that I should check out this series [...]

  35. [...] since apparently the general consensus is that the only thing stopping white Album from being the most putrid fecal matter ever defecated out of a rectum is Rina Ogata, and well … she’s a bitch. And I don’t really know much about Nana [...]

  36. [...] been able to make it through more than 5 minutes of new season episodes (causing me to rage about poop). I’ve been trying to keep my interest going for the last half a year but it’s just not [...]

  37. [...] but I figure if they invoke fangirl rage they may be worth posting about since everyone apparently loves when I do that. というわけで結婚しているからブログは4月に戻ります! [...]

  38. shalala says:

    I watch this alll….why i sat though all this…why. well a second season is out in october and I’m not watching it.

  39. [...] started out the year with the usual mediocre winter shows. I raged about the feces that was White Album but yet I ended up watching Ass no Yoichi anyway. I attempted to watch Kurokami only to then give [...]

Comments are closed.

January 2009
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031
You are visitor #:
  • 1,768,662 since 12/3/2008
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 611 other followers

